You are not connected. Please login or register

Total Defense Shogun

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1 Total Defense Shogun on Fri Sep 04, 2009 5:45 pm

Dr. Jackal

avatar
Freshmen
Freshmen
[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]
-CARD DESCRIPTION-
This card is changed to Defense Position when it is Normal Summoned or Flip Summoned successfully. This card can attack while it is in Defense Position. If this card attacks while in Defense Position, apply the ATK of this card for damage calculation.


-RULINGS-
If you select "Total Defense Shogun" with "Dark Spirit of the Silent", "Total Defense Shogun" changes to Attack Position even though he could attack while in Defense Position.

"Total Defense Shogun" does not permanently remain in Defense Position. After the turn that "Total Defense Shogun" is Summoned, you can change his battle position as normal. He can also have his battle position changed with card effects like "Stop Defense".

You don’t Normal Summon or Flip Summon "Total Defense Shogun" in Defense Position; you Normal Summon or Flip Summon him in face-up Attack Position and he changes to Defense Position. (Or you can Tribute Set him in face-down Defense Position.)

You cannot chain to "Total Defense Shogun"’s effect that changes him to Defense Position when Normal Summoned or Flip Summoned. So you cannot chain "Spellbinding Circle", etc.

Do not change "Total Defense Shogun" automatically to Defense Position if he is Special Summoned, only if he is Normal Summoned or Flip Summoned.

While "Total Defense Shogun" is in Defense Position, he attacks using his ATK but defends with his DEF if he is attacked. If he attacks a monster with higher ATK, but ATK lower than "Total Defense Shogun"’s DEF, "Total Defense Shogun" is still destroyed because the battle is ATK vs. ATK.

"Widespread Ruin" and "Mirror Force" cannot destroy "Total Defense Shogun" if he attacks while in Defense Position, and his attack resolves as normal.

If "Total Defense Shogun" in Defense Position is your only monster, and attacks, your opponent cannot activate "Mirror Force" because it will have no effect.

If "Total Defense Shogun" attacks while in Attack Position, and is changed to Defense Position by "Windstorm of Etaqua", his attack resolves as normal because he can attack while in Defense Position.

If "Total Defense Shogun" is a Dragon-Type because of "D. Tribe" or "DNA Surgery", and "Dragon Capture Jar" is in play, "Total Defense Shogun" can still attack.

If an effect is chained that switches the monster that would be the attacker into Defense Position, the selected Equip Card is still transferred but the battle is not conducted, unless the monster can attack while in Defense Position like "Total Defense Shogun".


-FUN STUFF-
* If "Total Defense Shogun" attacks while in Defense Position, it is unaffected by "Mirror Force" because "Mirror Force" only destroys monsters in Attack Position.

* This card also works well against "Level Limit - Area B" as it can still attack since Area B only switches monsters to Defense Position, not prevent them from attacking. However, this won't work against "Gravity Bind".

* Use "Shield and Sword" for a strong attack while in Defense Position, then you'll be still safe on your next turn.

* Obviously very splashable in warrior deck and also considering how popular Mirror Force is to have.

* While using Total Defense Shogun to stall against the opponents monsters; load him up with equip cards until he is strong enough to fight.

2 Re: Total Defense Shogun on Sat Sep 05, 2009 7:27 am

Bertha

avatar
Level 1 Obelisk
Level 1 Obelisk
IMO this card is not worthy in any competitive deck, however, I challenge you to make a competitive deck using this card effectively. It's a fun challenge.

http://www.youtube.com/realdizzleman22

3 Re: Total Defense Shogun on Mon Sep 07, 2009 12:28 am

Dr. Jackal

avatar
Freshmen
Freshmen
I will accept your challenge. It is my favorite card anyway.
:P

Sponsored content


View previous topic View next topic Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum